The University of Iowa

About Us

CTSDMC Leadership

Christopher Coffey, PhD

Director
319-384-4197
christopher-coffey@uiowa.edu

Dr. Coffey is a Professor of Biostatistics and Director of the CTSDMC in the University of Iowa College of Public Health. He received his Ph.D. in biostatistics from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill <More Information>

Emine Bayman, PhD

Deputy Director
319-467-1301
emine-bayman@uiowa.edu

Dr. Bayman is an Associate Professor of Anesthesia, with a secondary appointment in Biostatistics. She has over nine years of experience providing statistical design expertise to multi-center clinical trials, <More Information>
 

Dixie Ecklund, RN, MSN, MBA

Director of Operations
319-335-8446
dixie-ecklund@uiowa.edu

Ms. Ecklund has over 30 years combined experience conducting clinical trials through the CTSDMC and formerly as Nurse Manager of the General Clinic Research Center (GCRC). <More Information>

Biostatisticians

CTSDMC biostatisticians prepare and validate study reports, as well as interim and final analyses for CTSDMC projects. CTSDMC also supports the work of graduate students in the Department of Biostatistics.

Janel Fedler, PhD

Director of Biostatistics & Data Sharing
319-384-2752
janel-fedler@uiowa.edu

Chelsea Caspell-Garcia, MS

Biostatistics Lead
319-335-7648
chelsea-caspell@uiowa.edu

Michael Brumm
Michael Brumm, MS

Biostatistician
319-384-3475
michael-brumm@uiowa.edu

Anna Gudjonsdottir, MS
Angie Hirter, MS

Biostatistician
319-467-4259
angie-hirter@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Klingner, MS

Biostatistician
319-335-6529
elizabeth-zahn@uiowa.edu

Ryan Kurth, MS

Biostatistician
ryan-kurth@uiowa.edu

David-Erick Lafontant, MS

Biostatistician
319-384-4160
david-erick-lafontant@uiowa.edu

Monica Ahrens

Graduate Research Assistant
monica-ahrens@uiowa.edu

Daniel Kang

Graduate Research Assistant
319-384-3396
daniel-kang@uiowa.edu

Megan McCabe

Graduate Research Assistant
megan-mccabe@uiowa.edu

Data Managers

The CTSDMC provides full-range data management support, including developing case report forms, specifications and testing plans, validating the data systems, managing the query system, and assisting in end-user training and technical support of the database. 

Trevis Huff, BSE

Data Management Lead
319-384-3482
trevis-huff@uiowa.edu

Shannon Carrillo, MPH

Data Manager
319-353-4240
shannon-carrillo@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Cozzie, MS
Matthew Fisher, MS

Data Manager
319-384-3222
matthew-a-fisher@uiowa.edu

Aaron Gregg, MS

Data Manager
319-467-4287
aaron-gregg@uiowa.edu

 

Zackary Lemka
Zackary Lemka, MA

Data Manager
319-384-2751
zackary-lemka@uiowa.edu

George Nye

Data Manager
george-nye@uiowa.edu

Information Technology Development

The IT/Development Group is responsible for installation and maintenance of all hardware and software systems. This group is responsible for overseeing the design and implementation of all data systems, and ensuring that they conform to standards set by the FDA.

Richard Peters
Richard Peters, BS

IT/Development Manager
319-335-6872
richard-peters@uiowa.edu

Azadeh Khoddami, MEng
Jim Powers
James Powers, BS

IT/Development
319-384-3223
william-powers@uiowa.edu

Protocol Coordinators/Monitors

The Protocol Coordination and Monitoring group is responsible for developing and executing all monitoring plans in each clinical study. They provide on-site, remote and risk-based monitoring, study site support including EDC training, adverse event reporting and the development of training materials.

Michele Costigan
Michele Costigan, RN, BSN, CCRC

Protocol Coordinator/Monitor - Lead
319-384-4183
michele-costigan@uiowa.edu

Cynthia Diltz
Cynthia Diltz, RN, BSN, CCRC

Protocol Coordinator/Monitor
319-353-4982
cynthia-diltz@uiowa.edu

Holly Riss
Holly Ernst, BA, CCRC

Protocol Coordinator/Monitor
319-353-4267
holly-ernst@uiowa.edu

Maxine Koepp
Maxine Koepp, JD

Protocol Coordinator/Monitor
319-384-4186
maxine-koepp@uiowa.edu

Tina Neill-Hudson, BBA

Protocol Coordinator/Monitor
319-384-2750
tina-neill-hudson@uiowa.edu

Brenda Pearson, BA

Protocol Coordinator/Monitor
319-384-4763
brenda-pearson@uiowa.edu

Candy Wilson, BS

Protocol Coordinator/Monitor
319-384-4257
candy-wilson@uiowa.edu

Research Support

The Research Support Group manages the fiscal and personnel requirements of the Center, providing logistical and communication support for all study activities.

Maggie Spencer, MA

Research Support Manager
319-384-4105
maggie-spencer@uiowa.edu

Leah Meinel, BA

Research Support Coordinator
319-467-4258
leah-meinel@uiowa.edu

Ann Weber
Ann Weber, MBA

Administrative Support
319-384-1582
ann-weber@uiowa.edu